School of Public Health Peking University

The School of Public Health was set up in 1950 by the name of Public Health Office of the Peking University (PKU) Medical School. In the 1952 national restructuring of higher education institutions, the medical school was separated from Peking University and promoted Beijing Medical College. The office was consequently elevated to a department four years later and then a school in June, 1985. In 2000, Beijing Medical College remerged with Peking University and has since been known as Peking University Health Science Center (PUHSC), of which the School of Public Health constitutes an important part. Over the past 60 years, the school has grown from an office of fewer than ten staff members to a leading public health school in China that boasts 167 faculty members (including 42 professors, 42 associate professors and 30 doctoral supervisors), 960 students (including 103 doctoral candidates, 254 Master's degree candidates, 201 MPH candidates and 402 undergraduates) and a full range of disciplines. Its alumni are found all over the world playing major roles in preventive medicine, public health, health management and medical education.

The school consists of eight departments (Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Department of Occupational and Environmental Health Sciences, Department of Nutrition and Food Hygiene, Department of Child, Adolescent and Women’s Health, Department of Toxicology, Department of Health Policy and Management, Department of Social Medicine and Health Education, and Department of Global Health), one central laboratory, two research institutes (Institute of Child and Adolescent Health and Institute of Reproductive Health, PKU), five joint research centers (Center for Evidence-Based Medicine, Center for AIDS Prevention Studies, Nutritional and Functional Food Assessment Center, Health Emergency Management Center of PKU, and Research Center of Ageing Health Services), and two educational centers (Teaching Center for Preventive Medicine Experiments and Center for Educational Services). Besides, the school has one national key discipline (epidemiology and biostatistics), one national key fostering discipline (child, adolescent and women’s health), one municipal key discipline (child, adolescent and women’s health), and three provincial key laboratories.

The school offers Bachelor’s degree in preventive medicine, Master’s and Doctor’s degrees in epidemiology and biostatistics, occupational and environmental health sciences, nutrition and food hygiene, child, adolescent and women’s health, toxicology, social medicine and health management, as well as postdoctoral fellowships in all public health and preventive medicine related disciplines. In 2001, the school’s pilot project of seven-year Bachelor's to Master's degree program was approved by the Ministry of Education (MOE). In this combined program, students go into secondary disciplines in their sixth year. In addition, the school established nine practice bases in Beijing, Qingdao and Shenzhen, which have provided hand-on training to students from the combined program for seven consecutive years. In 2003, the school launched the MPH program. In 2009, as part of the MOE pilot project for Master’s program reform, the school expanded the MPH program to a full-time program.

Sponsored by National Key Projects, National Natural Science Foundation, Ministerial Foundation and International Research Foundation, the school has launched more than 200 research projects and won over 50 awards for its scientific achievements, representing the A team in public health research and education that China has to offer. The school also maintains strong collaboration with many prestigious international organizations (including the World Health Organization, the United Nations Infants and Children Fund, the US Center for Disease Control, and the China Medical Board) as well as world-class universities (including Harvard University, Yale University, Duke University, Johns Hopkins University, University of North Carolina, University of Michigan, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of Sydney, Monash University, Griffith University, University of Auckland, Seoul National University, University of Tokyo, and the Chinese University of Hong Kong).

         Qingyue Meng
Vice Dean: 
         Shandong Xu; Peiyu Wang; Zhifeng Wang
Party Secretary: 
         Weidong Hao
Vice Party Secretary: 
         Juan Chen; Siyan Zhan
Assistant Dean: 
         Tao Ren

School of Public Health, Peking University Health Science Center, No. 38 Xueyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing, 100191, P. R. China